Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, Belur

This educational centre was formally inaugurated on 4 July 2005. Declared as Deemed-to-be-University by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, under Section 3 of UGC Act, 1956, the RKMVERI has its main campus and head office at Belur. It runs academic programmes on its main campus as well as at its off-campus centres located at the Ramakrishna Mission centres in Coimbatore, Narendrapur and Ranchi (Morabadi).

RKMVERI offers courses on the following five ‘thrust areas’:

  1. Disability management and special education
  2. Agriculture and integrated rural and tribal development
  3. Indian spiritual and cultural heritage including values education
  4. Fundamental science education and research
  5. Environment and disaster management


  1. On Belur main campus:
    1. Courses offered:
      1. PhD in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Big Data Analytics.
      2. Integrated MPhil, PhD and five-year integrated MA courses in Sanskrit.
      3. MSc in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Big Data Analytics, Yoga and Sports Science.
      4. Certificate courses in Sanskrit (Preliminary, Intermediate and Advanced levels), Indian Spiritual Heritage, Yoga, Vedanta and other ancient scriptures, and Ramakrishna-Sarada-Vivekananda literature.
    2. Two students’ hostel.
    3. A central library and four departmental libraries.
    4. A publication department.
    5. Vivekdisha, an Information and Communication Technology (ICT)-based network, which conducts online classes from secondary to undergraduate level, online teachers’ training etc, served students of remote centres.
  2. On Coimbatore Mission off-campus:
    1. Courses under the Faculty of Disability Management and Special Education (FDMSE):
      1. BEd, MEd, MPhil, PhD and diploma courses in Special Education (hearing impairment, visual impairment and mental retardation).
      2. Integrated MPhil and PhD in Physical Education.
      3. BSc in Physical Education, Health Education and Sports.
      4. BSc (Hons.) in Agriculture.
      5. BPEd and MPEd in Physical Education.
      6. Diploma in Sign Language.
      7. Certificate course in Theatre Arts and Holistic Development – an interdisciplinary part-time course.
      8. Certificate course in Assistive Technology for people with disabilities – an interdisciplinary part-time course.
    2. Courses under the Faculty of General and Adapted Physical Education and Yoga (FGAPEY):
      1. DPEd, BPEd, BSc, MPEd, MPhil and PhD in Physical Education and Adapted Physical Education.
      2. Certificate courses in Adapted Physical Education, Yoga, Special Olympics and Kalaripayattu (traditional ancient Indian martial art).
    3. The Faculty of Agriculture, Rural and Tribal Development (FARTD) which conducts a four-year BSc course in agriculture.
    4. Faculty of Computer Science Applications and Research (FCSAR) offering a five-year integrated MSc course.
    5. Students’ hostels.
    6. A central library with books and periodicals..
  3. On Narendrapur off-campus:
    1. Courses under the Faculty of Agriculture and Rural Development (FARD):
      1. MSc and PhD in Agriculture and Rural Development (ARD).
      2. MSc and PhD in Agro-based Biotechnology (AgBT).
      3. MSc and PhD in Environment and Disaster Management.
      4. MSc in Genetics and Plant Breeding.
    2. A vocational training unit under Lokshiksha Parishad to provide skill development training to youths.
    3. A library.
  4. On Ranchi (Morabadi) off-campus:
    1. Courses under the Faculty of Agriculture, Rural and Tribal Development (FARTD):
      1. PhD and five-year integrated MSc in Agriculture, Rural and Tribal Development.
      2. MSc in Agriculture, Rural & Tribal Development, and Rural Development & Management.
      3. BSc (Hons.) in Agriculture.
      4. BVoc in Sustainable Agriculture.
      5. Diploma in Agriculture and Rural Development.
    2. A library.
    3. Skill development training programmes in association with Divyayan Krishi Vigyan Kendra to provide Skill Development training to rural tribal youths.
  5. Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs):
    a. Sasya Shyamala Krishi Vigyan Kendra (under Narendrapur centre), at Arapanch village in South 24 Parganas district, which conducted various training programmes benefiting farmers and rural youths.
    b. Dhanyaganga Krishi Vigyan Kendra (under Sargachhi centre) which conducted various training programmes benefiting farmers and rural youths.
  6. A research centre at Swami Vivekananda’s Ancestral House and Cultural Centre (Kolkata) branch.
  7. Religious classes at Ramakrishna Math Swami Trigunatitananda Memorial in Kolkata.
Agriculture Field Work
Vivekananda University Coimbatore Campus
Convocation of Vivekananda University Coimbatore Campus